How I Store Everything?

After 12 years of penpalling I have SOME received letters and letter supplies to store. Probably even too much. As some blogs that I love to follow (mostly Finnish ones) have posted how they store their supplies so I chose to jump to the bandwagon and show how I store everything in my room. Please note that I have burnt some letters (and postcards) that I have received, mostly from people who wrote a letter or two (or UGLY postcrossing cards) and then decided not to write back anymore – I know some penpallers (or postcrossers) might see this nearly sacrilegious but I don’t have that much space to store letters in and I’m soon moving out and need to take everything with me so it’d be nice if half of my stuff wouldn’t be letters or postcards.

But to storage~
I store my letters in three different boxes.

Floral box for received letters (and postcards) that I haven’t replied to yet

Bought from Tiger

Bought from Tiger

Peek to the box that reminds me I have to get my assignments done asap so that I have time to write letters!!!

Peek to the box that reminds me I have to get my assignments done asap so that I have time to write letters and postcards!!!

A huge box I took from my last apartment – my ex flatmate used it to carry her laundry to the laundromat and back but left it to us when she moved to Austria. So I chose to use it to store my foreign (replied) letters in it.

Foreign letters 2009-2013

Foreign letters 2009-2013

Just so you'd understand how big it really is :)

Just so you’d understand how big it really is 🙂

White box for Finnish letters

Finnish letters from 2001 to 2013

Finnish letters from 2001 to 2013

Then I have two boxes for two different kind of postcards – postcards to be sent to penpals/via Postcrossing and a small tin box with beautiful postcards and unwritten cards from penpals I want to put to my postcard collections as written. Sometimes when I don’t have fitting postcards in my “to be sent” box I go to my favourite cards box and pick a card from there.

To be sent postcards - I've divided those by themes, for example Moomins, Jetoys, Animals, Finland, Other countries, Christmas cards and illustrations

To be sent postcards – I’ve divided those by themes, for example Moomins, Jetoys, Animals, Finland, Other countries, Christmas cards and illustrations

Unwritten cards from swaps and penpals - I usually send these to my pals asking them to write something to those and send back to me :)

Unwritten cards from swaps and penpals – I usually send these to my pals asking them to write something to those and send back to me 🙂 All sorts of cards and mixed themes

Another tin box (I received these as Christmas presents from my parents some years ago – for postcards that I’ve received. After nearly 700 received postcards via postcrossing those aren’t big enough ;))

All my stickers BARELY fit the tin box - I buy more before I've used up all the stickers I already have :S

All my stickers BARELY fit the tin box – I buy more before I’ve used up all the stickers I already have :S

For letters and postcard to be sent I have a small tissue holder that I liked and bought instead of those lovely “MAIL” holders that cost quite a lot 😦

Hearts for the love of penpalling and Postcrossing :)

Hearts for the love of penpalling and Postcrossing 🙂

For my stamps I have a small folder you get from Post Office if you order stamps online (I think I have at least 3 of those). And the stamp sheets I’ve promised for certain pals I keep separately and most of the time remember which sheet is for who 🙂

Stamps folder and my current stamps - running out once again! :S

Stamps folder and my current stamps – running out once again! :S

Sheets for my Malaysian postcard pal, German penpal and my BFF

Sheets for my Malaysian postcard pal, German penpal and my BFF

And last but not least my huge collection of different letter sets.. I have way too much of those but can I give those away? Most of the time no. Does it stop me from buying more and new ones? Unfortunately not.

Unopened and barely opened letter sets, unused letter pads, some swapped sets (envelope + 2 papers) - envelopes and papers that don't match are stored separately in 2 other boxes I cann't find right now.

Unopened and barely opened letter sets, unused letter pads, some swapped sets (envelope + 2 papers) – envelopes and papers that don’t match are stored separately in 2 other boxes I cann’t find right now.

My favourite letter sets that I haven’t even opened because I don’t want those to run out?

I love fairytale themes, Amy and Tim, Miki, Angry Birds and everything UK themed

I love fairytale themes, Amy and Tim, Miki, Angry Birds and everything UK themed

And my most favourite sets - 5 different Sentimental Circus letter sets :3

And my most favourite sets – 5 different Sentimental Circus letter sets :3

Have you gotten rid of some of the letters or postcards you’ve received (if yes, how)? Do you have some exact places where you store your supplies and/or received letters and postcards? 🙂 Do you have some letter set brands or characters that you really love and store unable to open and start using those? 🙂

~Kristiina

9 thoughts on “How I Store Everything?

  1. I don’t know when I’ll do it, but I’ll have to do a post like this sometime! I have binders where I keep the letters (in the order I got them), a file drawer that holds (most of) my stationery, a hot pink box I have for the blank postcards I use for postcrossing, and a strange novelty envelope my mom found in Taiwan that I keep all my stamps in. Such a cute post!

    To answer your other questions, it was hard for me to use some Alice in Wonderland stationery since I wanted to keep it all for myself, but I made sure I used them for pen pals who would appreciate them almost as much as me. I haven’t gotten rid of any postcards, but a lot of the time when someone stops writing, I will throw out their letters.

    • These kind of posts are really interesting to make and read so I really recommend you to do it! 🙂
      I wish I had space to keep binders and enough binders for all of the letters I have received! Too bad right now it’s out of the question 🙂

      I know what you mean with Alice in Wonderland stationery!! I used to buy those a lot a year or two ago from various online stores and store those for a long time before I actually managed to open and start using those.. Unfortunately same didn’t happen with the Alice set I bought this autumn.. I’ve nearly used it all 🙂

  2. It is Always nice to read what you write, because I feel so the same 😀
    It is funny to read because I have the same problems, I even received a very big box from my mom… but it is already full 😦 so hopefully I receive a new one for x-mas (fingers crossed!)

    • I really hope you’ll get a bigger box!! 🙂 I’d really need two new ones as well but so far I’ve only gotten small shoe boxes that aren’t big enough for any other than the small kawaii/regular envelopes 😦

  3. Pingback: The Obsessive Storage of a Compulsive Pen Pal | Sincerely Kate

  4. Hi! I found your blog via google and I love it!! Nice to see how you store everything and to get a look into another penpallers world!!
    Thank you for that!! With love, Nathalie (the Netherlands)

Leave a Reply

